A timeline creation tool that allows users to incorporate text, images, and videos into each entry on their timeline.
- History Today: Dictionary
A dictionary of historical terms, this dictionary defines ambiguous historical terminology and also access historical facts, figures, mini-biographies.
- Museum Box
A great tool for creating virtual displays of artifacts that you find online. By using Museum Box students can organize images, text, videos, links, and audio clips about any topic that they're researching. When completed , students' "boxes" become digital dioramas.
- Social Studies Video Dictionary
Students can look up vocabulary words in style with this video dictionary.
An online, interactive timeline creator. With lots of comparable sites out there, what sets Tiki-Toki apart is its ability to blend traditional chronological mapping with multimedia and text in a slick, professional-looking layout.
- Colonial House
Interactive site by PBS and discover the people, food, clothing, houses and ways of life for Colonists, indentures servants, and Native Americans. The site contains a variety of learning activities including audio, video, quizzes, maps, dress the colonist, and an interactive journey across the ocean.
- Google Cultural Institute
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
- History Animated
Provides animations of the American Revolution, the US Civil War, WWII in Europe, and the US Pacific Campaign in WWII. In each you will see the animated movement of armies displayed on a map accompanied by captions describing the strategies of the armies as well as the results and consequences of each battle.
- Mapping History
Mapping History is essentially a digital atlas of American, European, Latin American, and African history. Each section is divided into modules based on historical themes and eras. Features animated maps illustrating problems, patterns, and events throughout history.
- NAACP Timeline
Shares the history of the Civil Rights Movements through the history of the NAACP itself. The site offers a variety of wonderful resources that are interactive and informative.
- Presidential Classroom
Contains personal and political biographical information about every President of the United States and lesson plans. Each profile links to dozens of essays about each President's life and work. Each profile also contains images of each President; some include audio files and video of the President.
- Annenburg Learner
Over 90 different resources on topics ranging from the Spice Trade to Civil Rights.
- BBC History Interactive
Discover audio, video, animations, timelines, games and galleries on many historical topics. The World Wars, Ancient Rome and the Egyptians are just some of the topics you will find here.
- Mission US: For Crown or Colony?
A first-person interactive journey through pre-Revolutionary War America. Allows students to explore colonial America in 1770s Boston, just prior to the Revolutionary War. The game is narrated with snippets of animation, and kids are often able to click on and explore the environment
- iCivics Game Network
Retired Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor founded iCivics to reverse a decline in civic knowledge and help kids better understand and respect the U.S. government. Sixteen games cover core topics like citizenship, rights, the court system, governance, freedom of speech, and constitutional law.
- Mission US: Flight to Freedom
A browser-based game that combines linear storytelling with a choose-your-own-adventure feeling. Students warp back in time to 1848 and step into the shoes of 14-year-old slave Lucy King as she runs away in search of freedom.
- Republica Times
A browser-based game that's part of a growing genre of smaller games that explore serious, challenging, and often political social issues. The player assumes the role of an editor overseeing what articles appear on the front page of a newspaper in a fictional country that's just had a political revolution.
Here you’ll find a great collection of videos to illustrate the past and help your students see the beauty of the arts.
- The Archaeology Channel
Help your students to explore the history of mankind through the great free content offered here.
- Crash Course
A source of science videos, Crash course also offers excellent videos on U.S. History and World History. The videos are fast-paced ten to twelve minute overviews of major concepts and themes.
- Digital History
With lesson plans and interactive online experiences for students, the videos found here are just the icing on the cake
- EASE History
Watch videos about historical events, campaign ads, and cultural values on this historical site.
- Folk Streams
Use this site to show students documentaries about traditional and folk culture in America.
- Hip Hughes History
Hip Hughes History is a series of short, upbeat lectures on topics in US History and World History. The videos are produced by Keith Hughes, a high school history teacher in Buffalo, New York.
- History for Music Lovers
Music videos about dozens of topics in World History. The videos are set to the music of popular songs with the lyrics changed to tell the stories of things like The French Revolution, The Crusades, and William the Conqueror. The images in the videos come from a mix of movies, music videos, and documentaries.
- History Matters
This site explores the primary historical documents central to understanding American history.
- Peoples Archive
This site collects the biographies of well-known people around the world told by the people who know it best–themselves.
- Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive
On this site you’ll find an amazing collection of WWII-era footage of the horrors of the Holocaust.
- The Travel Film Archive
This is a collection of hundreds of travel films recorded between 1900 and 1970. The films were originally recorded to promote various places around the world as tourist destinations. In the archives you will find films about US National Parks, cities across the globe, and cultural events from around the world. The films are a mix of color and black & white footage. The earliest footage is silent while the later footage is narrated.
- Timelines TV
You can find six timelines of important eras in U.S. and European history. Each timeline includes short (3-10 minute) videos about people and events in the era.
- That Was History
Every weeka video is released about interesting events that happened during the same week in history.